First post EVER

August 27, 2009 at 8:45 pm 6 comments

After staring at blogs until my eyes fuzz over, I’m not sure I can do what they do. I don’t know anything at all about blogging other than just writing. I can’t link or tag or roll or whatever, and my header is bland and boring…it’s all completely Greek to me. Here’s what I’m going to do until I figure this out…I’ll just list the deals I’ve done and where on a weekly basis, maybe more. Hopefully you can do a few of the same deals and save some money. That would make my heart super happy!

Target deals: (You can use a Target coupon WITH a manufacturer’s coupon giving you stellar deals on some items)

Target Run 082609

 

 

 

 

 

 

I paid .27 for all this with these coupons:

2 Chef Michaels $3/1 RP 8/23
2 Chef Michaels $1.50/1 TARGET (You can print as many Target coupons as you’d like at this link or at Target) Hot Coupon World Coupon Database

3 Johnsons Baby Toiletry $1/1 TARGET (Some Targets restrict the use of their coupons to ONE per transaction but so far the Targets I shop at allow multiple coupons in one transaction. If your Target limits, just do multiple transactions!)

4 Colgate Spongebob Toothpaste/Toothbrush $1/1 TARGET (These are .50 at Target so it’s possible your store will give you overage. It depends on the cashier really. If they give it to you…BONUS! If not, they’ll just price adjust the coupon down and you’ll still get it FREE.)

1 Glade 2 oz Soy Candle FREE: SS 8/9

2 Purina Chef Michael’s canine creations can BOGO – 08-23-09 RP

2 Chef Michael’s canine creations BOGO TARGET

2 Cesar Bistro Canine Entree BOGO – 08-16-09 RP

2 Cesar Bistro Canine Entree BOGO TARGET

(I forgot to put my 2 single serving sizes of General Mills cereal in the picture)

2 General Mills cereal $1/1 TARGET

To get good deals at Target you kind of need to have a thick skin because your coupons will beep and the cashier has to press the K1 button to allow them to go through. Most cashiers don’t think twice because they’re used to the computer beeping all over the place, but you may get a cashier who wants to give you an ulcer…stand your ground and take a copy of the Target coupon policy with you. You can find a copy of one here: Target Coupon Policy I’ve never had to produce mine but it never hurts to take it with you.

Safeway Trip:

Safeway 082609

 

 

 

 

 

 

I got all this (minus the 4 year old with the cheesy smile) for 1.89. Although I need to put a caveat in here…I got some overage because I found some clearanced dairy deals and had some good dog food coupons that gave me overage. Even without that, the deals especially on the organic cereal are great. Buy 5 participating cereals and get an additional $5 off in a single transaction. Safeway puts their double coupons in their in-store flyers (thank you SAFEWAY!) so we were able to use the doublers in 3 separate transactions to maximize the savings. You can only use one set of doublers in each transaction but the cashiers don’t mind if you do separate transactions. I try to go early in the morning or late at night if I have a bunch of transactions to do…they appreciate this when it’s slower and tend to be the coupon-friendly nice cashiers they should be.

4 Fresh Pet FREE: Found these in a coupon booklet called MDA awhile ago at Safeway

1 Del Monte Fruit Naturals $1/3 Del Monte

2 Yoplait Delights Yogurt $1.25/1 Printable Coupon but it looks like it’s gone now. If you see these clearanced use this coupon:  Yoplait Delights Yogurt, Any Multi-Pack – 08-23-09 SS

1 Kashi Honey Sunshine FREE box from VocalPoint (if you haven’t signed up for VocalPoint, DO IT. They send great coupons and samples!)

1 Kashi Honey Sunshine $1.50/1 VocalPoint home mailer

3 ANY Kashi product $1/1 From MIL, she got a huge stack of them at the Womens Fair…BUT there are multiple IP’s out there…

Here  and Here  and Here  (Sign up at Kashi to get coupons)

3 Propel Water .55/1 These were a tearpad next to the product.

2 Reese’s PB Cups $.55/1  08-23-09 SS

2 Reese’s PB Cups BOGO 8/23/09 SS (Safeway had a Buy2Get1 FREE deal to go along with this, so I got all 6 for free)

1 Danimals $1/1 (any Danimals product, 6 pack drink, 12 pack drink or 4 pack Crush Cups) – 08-09-09 SS

Plus got some bananas .59 lb, and a big fat cantaloupe .98 each.

Whole Foods: There are Whole Foods newsletters inside the front door with a ton of coupons that you can only redeem at Whole Foods which means you can STACK these suckers with manufacturer coupons and they don’t put a limit on how many you can use. (No picture, sorry)

I bought 2 packages Back to Nature organic mac n cheese $1.99 each, 1 Santa Cruz organic juice $2, 1 bag Halo organic dog food. Reg price $8.99 each. $3.99 oop total.

2 ANY Back to Nature product $1/1 (Looks like these IP’s are gone, sorry)

2 Back to Nature $1/1 Whole Foods newsletter

Santa Cruz organic lemonade on sale $2 each

1 Halo dry dog food $5/1 Sign up and you can print the $5 off coupon

1 Halo dry dog food $2/1 Whole Foods newsletter (These 2 coupons together made this super high quality organic dog food $1.99 for an 8 pound bag.)

Albertsons:

I included my deals from Tuesday in my weekly savings tally but since those deals ended 8/25, here’s just the one I did yesterday that’s part of the promotion from 8/26-9/1: This deal was a promotion buy $25 worth of participating products, get back $10 in catalinas. (no picture either, I promise I’ll be better in the future)

6 Morningstar Farms $2/1, I bought these awhile back from someone..I bought 50 of these coupons for $10. I’ve saved so much money with those coupons it’s crazy. My son loves the corn dogs (which for whatever reason are totally MIA right now), and the chicken nuggets. $3 each, minus the $2 coupon = a buck each.

5 Hunt’s diced tomatoes – no coupons for these but I had to get to my $25 and canned tomatoes are so versatile and nice to have on hand. $1 each

2 Hunt’s ketchup .20/1 Any 24 Oz. – 06-21-09 SS, $1 each – .20 = .80 each.

2 Pillsbury Cinnamon Twists on clearance for a buck, got 2 of them to freeze for a fun brunch sometime. YES they freeze!

Ok, that’s IT. I’m sure this is a terribly rudimentary coupon blog but I have to start somewhere, right? If you’ve read this far, I hope it helps you get some kind of deal this week!

Please leave me any comments or suggestions you’d like, but please try to be nice, this is my first try and I don’t want to get squashed right out of the gate! THANKS!!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Ready to save?…On the REST of it… My current pantry stockpile

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Shalom  |  August 27, 2009 at 11:23 pm

    Hi Girly! This is great; keep it up. I was wondering how you organize the coupons; from the time you print and clip to handing it over to the cashier. Maybe you could blog about it and help us unorganized coupon holders. 😉

    Reply
    • 2. supersaversnw  |  August 27, 2009 at 11:31 pm

      Thanks Shalom! Your idea is a fabulous one…I’ll definitely work up a post about how I organize my coupons and post pictures of my massive coupon binder. HUGS!

      Reply
      • 3. Kansas Heather M  |  August 28, 2009 at 3:46 am

        Great start! Loved reading…You are the coupon Jedi Master! When you sign up for Vocalpoint is it obvious how to access coupons? Or do they send them to you..do you have to search around a bit? Just curious.

      • 4. supersaversnw  |  August 28, 2009 at 4:06 am

        Hi Heather! THanks so much for reading! It should be pretty self explanatory, they will start sending them to you in awhile but you can still get internet printed coupons on their website.

  • 5. Sarah (LovIN My Tummy)  |  August 28, 2009 at 6:57 am

    I feel a new addiction coming on. Don’t you know I’m busy woman?!

    I definitely need assistance in interpreting the coupon lingo, i.e. I assume that $1/1 means “a dollar off of one?”

    What are RPs, SS, and IPs? I know what BOGO is. Yay me!

    It might be helpful for newbies like me to put up a page with all of the coupon jargon on it.

    Now onto the good stuff: you are a great writer, with an adorable kid and a nose for bargains. AND you are passionate about what you are doing and that is what matters most!

    If you need any help setting things up with the blog stuff, I’m your gal.

    Reply
    • 6. supersaversnw  |  August 28, 2009 at 3:10 pm

      I actually did do a page about abbreviations for stuff, it’s on the page at the top What Does THAT Mean? I think my blog page isn’t very well laid out so you couldn’t see it. Thank you so much for your thoughts. I’m going to put together a list of questions and email them to you.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Bookmark and Share

Powered by FeedBurner

contact me

